"I’m looking forward to having a nice space for family to come and visit, for my son when he stays with me, for us to be able to relax and chill out."

October 5, 2022

I have been living in the Republic of Ireland for the last 26 years, and I’ve been renting for most of that time. I owned a house for a short period, but only for about three or four years. I’ve mainly been renting for most of that time, primarily in Tralee, but I’ve worked all over the country. In recent years through some ill health, I had to give up full-time work. I’ve been bounced around the local rental market for various reasons and have changed address four times in the last four years.

Between 2012 and 2018, I was renting a lovely property. The owner lived in the States but then moved home and was looking to move back in, so I eventually had to leave. It was a struggle even at that time to find anything affordable or available. Even then if you were going to a viewing, there were about 20-30 people turning up to the same one. In a smaller town like Tralee, if you had the cash for a deposit and rent, you still weren’t guaranteed to get somewhere.

I was lucky a friend of mine is a local property agent. Through him I got a three-bed house, but the landlord decided 12 months later to sell.  Every time I moved the quality of home was going down, and the price was going up. The first house I lived in had a big garden, space, and comfort. The second house had no garden, was on the main street and was dark. After I moved out of that house I ended up in a small, dingy flat in the centre of town with no outside space and nowhere to hang out my clothes to dry. I was there for the last two and a half years until I got, to my ultimate surprise, a letter from Co-operative Housing Ireland offering me a house out here in Ardfert.

I wasn’t expecting it at all, so when I saw it, I was delighted. The new house is fabulous. It’s ultra-modern. It’s cosy and comfortable. There is plenty of space. The area is nice and quiet with a fabulous view of the mountains. I can even see the sea from my bedroom! It’s closer to the beach, so I’ll be able to get there more often.

I have a son who lives primarily with his mother, but also spends a lot of time with me. He’s coming up to his eighteenth birthday now in the summer. He has just finished fifth year and is going into the Leaving Cert.  

I’m looking forward to having a nice space for family to come and visit, for my son when he stays with me, for us to be able to relax and chill out. My son already has his game station set up in his room. The next thing is to get some large shelves so he can put his Lego Formula One cars up on it.

I generally would go to the beach with my son when the weather’s good. I have a bit of a bad back at the moment, so I’ll have to be cautious about it this year. I put a disc out in September and it’s causing sciatica in my left side.

 

No items found.